페이지 정보

작성자차트맨 조회 3회 작성일 2021-01-20 23:48:02 댓글 0


How hierarchies help & hamper us in creating great organizations | Markus Reitzig | TEDxFHKufstein

You may know the feeling: too many folks seem to care too much about promotions and moving up the corporate ladder. The hierarchy in your workplace exerts an almost gravitational pull towards the top, even among those who never wanted to become bosses initially. But it does not seem to benefit the organization eventually, and creates a divide between the bottom and the top. Markus Reitzig, Professor of Management, explains what hierarchies do to our behavior, and how we should use them effectively to create competitive organizations instead of “boats full of captains with no sailors”.

Markus Reitzig, a professor at the University of Vienna, is focusing on strategic management of innovative business models and new technologies – journals such as Harvard Business Review, Academy of Management Review and McKinsey Quarterly published his articles.

This talk was given at a TEDx event using the TED conference format but independently organized by a local community. Learn more at http://ted.com/tedx

Hierarchy - Definition And Classification

Hierarchy refers to the taxonomic classification of living organisms in successive levels of complexity. The highest rank in such a classification “Kingdom” while “species” is the lowest. Hierarchy can be classified into two types namely obligate hierarchy and intermediary hierarchy.

A taxonomical study has led to the formation of seven categories in which every living organism in the world can be categorized:
1. Species
2. Genus
3. Family
4. Order
5. Class
6. Phylum
7. Kingdom

To know more about hierarchy and other related concepts visit the link provided below.

Learn Biology: Classification- The Taxonomic Hierarchy

Check out Bas Rutten's Liver Shot on MMA Surge: http://bit.ly/MMASurgeEp1
Mahalo biology expert Mary Poffenroth explains the classification system of species and the taxonomic hierarchy. 

The Taxonomic Hierarchy

In biological taxonomy, all life forms can be classified within a hierarchal system that orders them from the broadest, most inclusive categories to the narrowest, most exclusive. The most widely used conventional categories are domain, kingdom, phylum, class, order, family, genus and species.http://www.biology-online.org/dictionary/Domain 
This taxonomic system was initially pioneered by
Carl Linnaeus in the 18th century. Linnaeus used Latin terms to arrange species according to observable similarities and differences in their physical morphology. With recent innovations in molecular biology, the traditional classification system has been made more precise by the possibility of going beyond superficial similarities and mapping similarities and differences between species at the genetic level.  
Following this hierarchy, the highest level, domain, distinguishes between bacteria and organisms with a true cell nucleus. The next level down, kingdom, distinguishes plants from animals. Below the kingdom level, at the level of phylum, we can differentiate between vertebrates and creatures with no backbone. Among the vertebrates, you can differentiate mammals from birds, fish and reptiles at the class level. Among mammals, you can differentiate between ones that eat meat and ones that don't. Some mammals belong to the order
Carnivora, meaning they eat meat. Others belong to the order Herbivora, meaning they feed exclusively on vegetation. Next, humans belong to the family Hominidae, which includes great apes (gorillas, orangutans and chimpanzees). At the genus level, we are related to now-extinct species of early humans, such as the Neanderthals. Finally, at the lowest level of the biological taxonomy, all living humans are members of the same species, since we form a single reproductive population sharing the capacity to produce children, regardless of superficial racial differences.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kKwOlAqQoLk\u0026feature=player_embedded   

Classification of a Sample Species

In order to form a clearer idea of these categories, it is helpful to think of a specific example, like a mountain lion.
At the domain level, a mountain lion belongs to the category of
Eukarya, which are organisms with a cellular nucleus, unlike bacteria. At the kingdom level, it is Animalia, as opposed to a plant or a fungus. Mountain lions belong to the phylum Chordata, which are animals that have a backbone, in contrast to Arthropoda (spiders) or Porifera (sponges).  
The c
lass Mammalia includes animals that have fur and produce milk. This is the level at which fish, birds and reptiles are distinguished.  Mountain lions belong to the order Carnivora along with other meat eaters such as bears and wolves. Their family, Felidae, includes large cats including leopard or lions. At the next level down, the genus Puma includes jaguars and cougars but not tigers.Finally, mountain lions constitute a distinct species, concolor. When designating a particular species, it is customary to use the genus and species name. So the short taxonomic designation for a mountain lion is Puma concolor.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kKwOlAqQoLk\u0026feature=player_embedded 

Read more by visiting our page at:




등록된 댓글이 없습니다.

전체 1,661건 1 페이지
게시물 검색
Copyright © www.presidentpark.or.kr. All rights reserved.  Contact : help@oxmail.xyz